Approval of Postal Sub-Divisions for Village Banking – DOP

In a memorandum dated September 14, 2023, from the Ministry of Communications, Department of Posts in India, the creation of 60 new postal sub-divisions has been approved. The primary objective behind this move is to facilitate the provision of banking services within a five-kilometer radius of all villages in the country. The newly created sub-divisions will oversee the operations of Branch Post Offices (BOs) under their jurisdiction.

Creation of 60 New Sub-Divisions in 07 Circles

No. 25-17/2016-PE-I
Government of India
Ministry of Communications
Department of Posts
(PE-I Section)

Dak Bhawan, Sansad Marg,
New Delhi – 110001
Dated: September 14, 2023


The Chief Postmaster General,
Chhattisgarh Circle, Jharkhand Circle,
M. P. Circle, Maharashtra Circle, N. E. Circle,
Odisha Circle, Rajasthan Circle.

Subject: Creation of Sub-Divisions in view of sanction of new posts of Inspector Posts (IP) for providing banking facility within five Kilometers of all the villages in the country – reg.

Madam /Sir,

This is in continuation of RB Division’s letter No.40-12/2022-Plg dated 24.03.2023 . Approval of the Competent Authority is hereby conveyed for creation of 60 (sixty ) postal sub-divisions in 07 Circles as mentioned below:

S. No.Name of the CircleNumber of newly sanctioned posts of Inspector PostsNumber of newly sanctioned posts of Mail Overseer.
1Chhattisgarh Circle24
2Jharkhand Circle612
3M.P. Circle1836.00
4Maharashtra Circle48
5N.E. Circle1632
6Odisha Circle510
7Rajasthan Circle918
  1. The new sub-divisions will supervise the work of Branch Post Offices (BOs) under them. Details of the newly created sub-divisions is enclosed.
  2. All the concerned Circles are requested to take urgent action to set up 60 Postal Sub-divisions. This Directorate may kindly be kept informed of the latest developments in the matter through a monthly status report.

Yours faithfully,

(Prabha Sharma)
Asstt. Director General (PE-I)

PDF Link

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.